CLAW

CLAW is a smart watch self-sufficient in energy supplies and able to interact with other connected objects in its environment.

Today, new technologies are an important part of our society. From Smartphones to the communicating objects, not to mention sunglasses and watches, we find these new technologies throughout our environment. How to conciliate all of this? How to always go further in order to simplify the today’s life of people? These are the questions that we asked ourselves to choose our topic of PPE in August 2013. So we searched for things that already exist and how to improve them. To do this, we focused on two fairly recent but promising cases: smartwatch and communicating objects.

Today, communicating objects use smartphones or tablets such as control interface, but it consumes more power and adds smartphones a function that is not necessarily useful for them. Similarly, the smartwatch permit to use, as a simplified way, some features of a phone, provided that the two objects are connected to each other, which again consumes energy uselessly. So we thought to use a watch as control interface for communicating objects. This watch would not be connected to a phone and would be energetically independent. Its role is to receive datas from communicating objects near to it, read these datas and send news. Thereby, when a person enter a room, his watch « tells » the objets that someone is in, and they can act as they have to..

In one year, it was almost impossible to get a finished product. Our objectives were to look at the issue of energy independence, and allow a user to navigate through a menu with a simple hand gesture (photodiodes) on a prototype.
For the question of energy, it is difficult to make a connected objet totally independent. So we reduced the complete independence to a long autonomy, at first, in order to simplify the conception of the object. In addition, most of the technologies that could permit it are still very expensive and difficult to access ( grapheme battery, nano solar panels …). Today, our prototype is working with a conventional 5V battery to ensure its proper functioning.
Our final prototype will allow us to navigate through a menu. Once the watch on, the user can, with a single movement of the hand, access to different screens. The objective will be to integrate the device allowing communication with the objects with a sensor communicating with the watch.

Communicating objects are a technological innovation with strong potential. Having a long battery life (or independent) control interface on the energy level all over an environment is something really interesting.
If the CLAW’s project is not finished yet, its progress is significant given our resources and our skills about doing such a project. We believe that CLAW can be made : if the navigation menu is feasible, we still have to do the communication part (part that we have to do with our partner : The LACSC), and implement an efficient system to reduce its consumption the lowest possible.

Comments

Submitted by Anonymous (not verified) on
Since the admin of this web site is working, no hesitation very quickly it will <br> <br> be famous, due to its quality contents.<br> <br> <br> <br> My blog post <a href="http://razeshoelifts.com">chocolate</a>

Submitted by Anonymous (not verified) on

Submitted by Anonymous (not verified) on

Submitted by João Benjamin (not verified) on
Tem o melhor tempo paгa fazer planos pаra ᧐ futuro e <br> <br> tem tempo para ѕer feliz. Tеnho ler еste post e se eu pudesse eu <br> <br> desejam sugerir-lhe aⅼguns coisas interessantes оu sugestõеs .<br> <br> Talvez poderia escrever próximos artigos referindo-ѕe <br> <br> a este artigo. Ꭼu desejam ler mаis coisas <br> <br> nele!<br> <br> <br> <br> Ꮇeu homepagе sagres (<a href="https://villastavira.pt">Paulo Thiago</a>)

Pages

Add new comment

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
4 + 4 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.

CLAW

CLAW est une montre connectée indépendante énergétiquement capable d'interagir avec les objets connectés de son environnement.

Aujourd’hui, les nouvelles technologies sont une part importante de notre société. Des Smartphones aux objets communicants, en passant par les montres connectées et bientôt les lunettes, nous trouvons ces technologies tout autour de nous. Comment réunir tout cela? Comment aller toujours plus loin, avec l’objectif de simplifier la vie des utilisateurs? Ce sont les questions que nous nous sommes posées pour choisir notre sujet de PPE en Août 2013. Nous avons donc cherché ce qui existait déjà, et comment les améliorer. Pour ce faire, nous nous sommes concentrés sur deux sujets nouveaux mais prometteurs : Les smartwatch et les objets communicants.

Aujourd’hui, les objets communicants utilisent les tablettes ou les smartphones comme interfaces de contrôle, mais cela consume beaucoup d’énergie et leur ajoute aux smartphones une fonction inutile. De la même manière, les smartwatch permettent d’utiliser, d’une manière simplifiée, quelques applications des smartphones (appels, textos, mails…), en étant connectées à eux. Ce qui encore, consomme de l’énergie de manière évitable. Nous avons donc décidé d’utiliser une montre comme interface de contrôle pour des objets communicants. Cette montre ne sera connectée à aucun smartphone, et sera indépendante énergétiquement. Son rôle est de recevoir des données provenant d’objets communicants situés dans son environnement, de les traiter et d’en envoyer de nouvelles.

En une année, il était presque impossible d’obtenir un produit fini. Nos objectifs étaient de trouver une solution au problème de l’indépendance énergétique, et permettre à un utilisateur de parcourir un menu d’un simple geste de la main (utilisation de photodiodes), sur un prototype. Concernant l’énergie, il est difficile de concevoir un objet connecté totalement indépendant. Nous avons donc réduit cet objectif à une longue autonomie, afin de simplifier la conception de la montre. De plus, la plupart des technologies qui permettent cela sont difficiles d’accès et chères (batterie graphène, nano panneaux solaires…). Aujourd’hui, notre prototype fonctionne à l’aide d’une pile 5V afin d’assurer son bon fonctionnement.

Notre prototype final permettra à un utilisateur de naviguer dans un menu. Une fois la montre allumée, l’utilisateur pourra, d’un simple mouvement de la main, accéder à différents écrans, représentatifs des actions que l’on pourra effectuer dans le futur. L’objectif sera alors d’intégrer un module permettant la communication entre la montre et son environnement.

Les objets communicants sont une innovation technologique à fort potentiels. Avoir une interface de contrôle à grande autonomie sur le plan énergétique sur tout un environnement est quelque chose de très intéressant. Si le projet CLAW n’est pas à son stade final, sa progression est signifiante, compte tenu de nos ressources et de nos compétences pour un tel projet. Nous maintenons que CLAW peut être abouti: si nous pouvons permettre une navigation dans un menu, nous devons encore nous occuper de la partie communication (que nous ferons avec notre partenaire, le LACSC) et trouver un moyen efficace de réduire au maximum sa consommation énergétique

Ajouter un commentaire

CAPTCHA
Ce test a pour but d'empêcher les spams.
3 + 5 =
Trouvez la solution de ce problème mathématique simple et saisissez le résultat. Par exemple, pour 1 + 3, saisissez 4.