Hovercraft

163

This Hovercraft is able to map its surroundings and to move directly in any given direction.

In the last few years, the exponential growth of the drone industry and the frequent use of such vehicles in the academic field have bring many new applications and innovations with their resulting consequences on the structural and software requirements of the embedded systems. Energy efficiency, weight gain and overall cost reduction are the main challenges and the most important factors affecting the actual capacity of a drone designed for autonomous indoor exploration to complete its tasks successfully. The ability to produce a cheap vehicle able to evolve in complex indoor environments at a big scale would help activities such as building surveillance, surface estimations, or military reconnaissance in dangerous areas.

In order to combine a better mobility while benefitting from the advantages of this kind of vehicle, we designed and implemented a remote controlled Hovercraft able to map its surroundings and to move directly in any given direction. The structure of the Hovercraft is based on five fans, four lateral fans are used to enable a direct movement in any direction while a central fan maintains an air cushion under the Hovercraft. This allows a directly multidirectional movement which can lead to a significant time gain in the case of indoor exploration. A turret equipped with two ultrasound sensors maps the perimeter around the hovercraft allowing an autonomous and safe exploration of the area. The resulting map is visualized by the user on a remote computer, allowing him to manually command the Hovercraft of to let him autonomously evolve in the area.

Hovercrafts can be an interesting alternative to flying drones since they can evolve on many types of environment while being able to navigate closely between obstacles. The principle of the Hovercraft being to maintain an air cushion on which the module can move with a very little amount of lateral power, it might be perfectly adequate for the kind of uses described before. Another challenge resides in the compromise between the complexity of the algorithms employed resulting in a hardware abundance and the quality of the data extracted from the system. While a sophisticated drone will be able to compute the information coming from numerous sensors and will react in real time to numerous unpredicted events, the loss in terms of battery life and extra cost generated can be superfluous depending on the situation. A little swarm of lighter Hovercrafts connected to a remote computer could be more cost efficient and obtain viable results way quicker than a single drone fully equipped.

Add new comment

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
4 + 7 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.

Hovercraft

163

Aéroglisseur commandé à distance capable de cartographier les zones alentours.

Depuis quelques années, la croissance exponentielle de la production de drones et leur utilisation fréquente dans le domaine universitaire ont généré de nouvelles applications et innovations qui ont elles mêmes engendré de nouvelles contraintes structurelles et logicielles pour ces systèmes embarqués. L'économie d'énergie, le gain de poids et de manière plus générale, le gain en coûts sont les principaux enjeux et les facteurs les plus importants qui affectent la capacité d'un drone conçu pour de l'exploration en intérieur à accomplir sa tache avec succès. La capacité à produire à grande échelle des modules peu chers et capables d'évoluer dans des environnements complexes pourrait par exemple aider aux activités de surveillance, d'estimation de surface ou de reconnaissance militaire en zone dangereuse.

Afin de profiter des avantages que procure un véhicule aéroglisseur tout en bénéficiant d'une mobilité fluide , nous avons conçu et construit un module commandé à distance capable de cartographier les zones alentours et capable de se déplacer directement dans n'importe quelle direction. La structure de notre aéroglisseur est basée sur cinq hélices : quatre hélices latérales placées de manière orthogonale permettent un déplacement quelque soit l'angle donné alors qu'une hélice centrale maintient un coussin d'air en dessous du module, lui permettant de se sustenter au dessus du sol. Cette configuration permet d'éviter les trajectoires courbes lors des demi-tours ou de sortir d'une impasse à reculons permettant un gain de temps non négligeable lors de la cartographie en intérieur. Une tourelle, équipée de capteurs ultrasons, cartographie le périmètre ce qui permet une exploration autonome sans risques. La carte obtenue est visualisée par l'utilisateur qui peut décider de contrôler manuellement l'aéroglisseur ou le laisser évoluer en autonomie.

Les aéroglisseurs peuvent être une alternative intéressante aux drones volants puisqu'ils sont capables d'évoluer dans différents types d'environnements tout en naviguant proche des obstacles. Le principe de l'aéroglisseur étant de se sustenter au dessus d'un coussin d'air, les frottements avec le sol sont supprimés et il ne faut que peu de puissance latérale pour faire avancer le véhicule ce qui le rend peu consommateur d'énergie. Un autre défi est celui du compromis entre la complexité de l'algorithme utilisé, les contraintes hardware en résultant et la qualité des données extraites du système. Bien qu'un drone sophistiqué soit capable d'interpréter des données en temps réel et d'y réagir immédiatement, le coût élevé généré par la surabondance de matériel électronique est parfois superflu en fonction du type d'application auquel est destiné l'appareil. Un essaim de drones aéroglisseurs peu chers connectés à un ordinateur distant pourrait être une configuration plus avantageuse dans le cas de certaines applications.

Ajouter un commentaire

CAPTCHA
Ce test a pour but d'empêcher les spams.
19 + 1 =
Trouvez la solution de ce problème mathématique simple et saisissez le résultat. Par exemple, pour 1 + 3, saisissez 4.